STORAGE
FOR THE ENERGY TRANSITION

CORNERSTONE OF
AN AFFORDABLE ENERGY SYSTEM

GUARANTEE FOR
A SAFE ENERGY SUPPLY

Gas Storage - Bridging Energy Transition
and Energy Security

Gas storage contributes to a large extent to the success of the energy transition in Germany and Europe. Gas storage guarantees a secure gas supply, functions as a cornerstone of an affordable energy system, and provides a storage solution for renewable energy in the future. INES is the association of gas storage system operators in Germany. INES’ members represent over 90 per cent of German gas storage capacities and account for more than 20 per cent of gas storage capacities in the European Union.

About us

News

EU Strategies for Hydrogen and Sector Integration Acknowledge Gas Storage

Almost four weeks after the German National Hydrogen Strategy was presented, the European Commission published the EU Strategies for Hydrogen and Sector Integration today. With its strategies, the Commission also addresses the role of gas storage facilities for a carbon-neutral…

Read more

Gas Network Development Needs Paradigm Shift

German Transmission System Operators present the Network Development Plan (NDP) Gas 2020-2030 to the German Regulatory Agency (Bundesnetzagentur) today. Despite immense uncertainties the NDP includes new pipeline development for almost 9 billion euros. However, for the first time there is…

Read more

National Hydrogen Strategy Triggers Transformation

The German government passes the much-anticipated National Hydrogen Strategy today, thereby leading the transformation path towards a carbon-neutral gas sector in an entirely carbon-neutral energy system. Many of the concerns of gas storage system operators have been addressed; however, at…

Read more

Hydrogen is not Energy Storage yet

Read more

Mild Winter Spares Gas in Stock

Gas in storage stayed almost untouched during the past months due to mild temperatures. Preparing for the next heating season is therefore feasible without any problems.

Read more

Policies and Objectives

Storage for Europe's
Energy Future

Gas storage plays a decisive role in a carbon-neutral energy supply. The Power-to-Gas technology allows electricity from renewable sources to be converted into green gases and then be stored in gas storage facilities for longer periods of time. Thus, gas storage provides a means for renewable energies to be available at all times - on short notice and as flexibly as necessary.

Read more

Security of Supply:
Today and Tomorrow

Gas storage is a cornerstone of the energy infrastructure in Europe. When demand peaks on cold winter days, up to 60 per cent of Germany's gas supply is provided by gas storage facilities. Looking at future storage needs for renewable energies, however, gas storage will also be a necessary pillar of a secure energy system in the future.

Read more

Affordable Energy for Germany and Europe

Gas storage meets gas demands flexibly and locally. It thereby reduces the necessity to invest excessively in new transport infrastructure in the gas as well as the electricity sector. Hence, gas storage reduces the costs of the energy system and plays a vital role in securing an affordable energy transition throughout the future.

Read more

Members

SPEICHER
FÜR DIE ENERGIEWENDE

ECKPFEILER FÜR
EIN BEZAHLBARES ENERGIESYSTEM

GARANTEN FÜR
EINE SICHERE ENERGIEVERSORGUNG

Gasspeicher – die Brücke zwischen
Energiewende und Energiesicherheit

Gasspeicher leisten in Deutschland und Europa wichtige Beiträge zum Gelingen der Energiewende – ob als Garanten der Versorgungssicherheit, als Eckpfeiler einer bezahlbaren Energieversorgung oder als Energiespeicher der Zukunft. Die INES ist ein Zusammenschluss von Betreibern deutscher Gasspeicher. Sie repräsentiert über 90 Prozent der deutschen und etwa ein Viertel der Gasspeicherkapazitäten in der Europäischen Union.

Über uns

Aktuelle Meldungen

INES-Mitgliederversammlung stellt Weichen für Zukunft

Gasspeicher sind für die Energiewende von großer Bedeutung. Um zukünftigen Entwicklungen Rechnung zu tragen, haben die Mitglieder der Initiative Erdgasspeicher (INES) im April wichtige Beschlüsse gefasst. Nach einer Satzungsänderung können zukünftig auch Wasserstoffspeicher-Unternehmen INES-Mitglieder werden. Als neues Mitglied begrüßte die…

Weiterlesen

Bundesrat nimmt Abstand von bisheriger Forderung zur Wasserstoffnetz-Regulierung

Der Bundesrat hat heute seine Stellungnahme zum Gesetzentwurf der Bundesregierung für die Novellierung des Energiewirtschaftsgesetzes (EnWG) verabschiedet. Die Länderkammer spricht sich dabei nicht mehr dafür aus, die bestehende Erdgasnetzregulierung auf Wasserstoffnetze zu übertragen. Sebastian Bleschke, Geschäftsführer der Initiative Erdgasspeicher e.V.…

Weiterlesen

Biomethan-Potenziale dauerhaft und zukunftsgerichtet nutzen

11. Februar 2021

Biogas ist ein wichtiger Baustein, um den Gasmarkt 2050 über alle Anwendungen und Sektoren hinweg klimaneutral zu gestalten. In einem gemeinsamen Appell fordern zwölf Verbände der Gaswirtschaft daher eine Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für biogene Energieträger.

Weiterlesen

EnWG schafft Überholspur für Wasserstoffnetze

10. Februar 2021

Heute hat die Bundesregierung eine Novellierung des Energiewirtschaftsgesetzes (EnWG) beschlossen. Mit der EnWG-Novelle ermöglicht die Bundesregierung eine kosteneffiziente und vor allem schnelle Entwicklung von Wasserstoffnetzen. Sie beschleunigt so den für die Energiewende notwendigen Hochlauf des Wasserstoffmarktes.

Weiterlesen

Themen & Positionen

Energiespeicher für Deutschlands Zukunft

Gasspeicher spielen für eine treibhausgasneutrale Energieversorgung eine entscheidende Rolle. Mit der Power-to-Gas-Technologie kann grüner Strom in erneuerbare Gase umgewandelt und dann in Gasspeichern auch über längere Zeiträume eingespeichert werden. Erneuerbare Energien stehen in den Energiespeichern der Zukunft somit jederzeit kurzfristig und flexibel bereit.

Mehr zum Thema

Versorgungssicherheit: heute und morgen

Gasspeicher stellen eine wesentliche Säule der Energieinfrastruktur dar. An kalten Wintertagen werden derzeit bis zu 60 Prozent der Gasversorgung in Deutschland aus den Speichern abgedeckt. Als Speicher für erneuerbare Energien sind Gasspeicher aber auch im Rahmen der Energiewende für die Versorgungssicherheit unverzichtbar.

Mehr zum Thema

Bezahlbare Energie für Deutschland

Durch Gasspeicher wird der Gasbedarf flexibel und verbrauchsnah gedeckt und in der Folge ein übermäßiger Ausbau der Gas- und Stromnetze vermieden. Damit senken Gasspeicher auch die Gesamtkosten des Energiesystems und leisten somit einen wichtigen Beitrag für die langfristige Bezahlbarkeit der Energiewende.

Mehr zum Thema

Mitgliedsunternehmen